Nieman News

The Nieman Foundation today announced all named fellowships for the Nieman class of 2015. These fellowships are supported by foundation grants and endowed funds that provide financial assistance to journalists from the United States and abroad.

The John S. and James L. Knight Foundation will help support two Knight Latin American Nieman Fellows in the class of 2015. Knight has funded more than 50 Nieman Fellowships for journalists from Latin America since 1981. The 2015 Knight Latin American Nieman Fellows are:

  • Elaine Díaz Rodríguez, a Cuban journalist, blogger and professor at the University of Havana. She is the first Cuban Nieman Fellow.
  • Miguel Paz Rueda, a Chilean journalist, former Knight ICFJ Fellow and founder and CEO of Poderomedia, an organization that promotes transparency and digital innovation.

Paz is also one of two 2015 Nieman-Berkman Fellows in Journalism Innovation. The fellowship is a collaboration between the Nieman Foundation and the Berkman Center for Internet & Society at Harvard and is designed to generate new ideas to advance quality journalism in the digital age.

Maggie Koerth-Baker, a columnist for The New York Times Magazine and science editor at whose work has appeared in Discover, Popular Science and other publications, is the second 2015 Nieman-Berkman Fellow.

Melissa Bailey, managing editor of the New Haven Independent, a pioneering, not-for-profit online community news organization in New Haven, Conn., is the 2015 Donald W. Reynolds Nieman Fellow in Community Journalism.

Celeste LeCompte, a San Francisco-based journalist who writes about innovation, the environment and entrepreneurs, is the 2015 Donald W. Reynolds Nieman Fellow in Business Journalism.

The Donald W. Reynolds Foundation first began funding the Nieman Fellowship in Community Journalism in 2005. The Donald W. Reynolds Nieman Fellowship in Business Journalism was established in 2010.

Three fellows have been named as Murrey Marder Nieman Fellows in Watchdog Journalism. The fellowship honors the memory of Murrey Marder, a longtime Washington Post reporter and 1950 Nieman Fellow who funded and helped found the Nieman Watchdog Project. The 2015 Marder Fellows are:

  • Jason Grotto, an investigative reporter for the Chicago Tribune.
  • Ann Marimow, a reporter at The Washington Post who covers legal affairs and thecriminal justice system.
  • Vladimir Radomirovic, the editor-in-chief of Pistaljka, an online investigative journalism outlet in Serbia.

The Nieman Foundation has selected two Ruth Cowan Nash Nieman Fellows. Nash was best known for her work as an Associated Press war correspondent during World War II. The 2015 Nash Fellows are:

Alicia Stewart, an editor at, is the Louis Stark Nieman Fellow. The fellowship honors the memory of the New York Times reporter who was a pioneer in the field of labor reporting.

Abeer Allam, an Egyptian journalist who works as Gulf correspondent at the Financial Times, is the  Barry Bingham Jr. Nieman Fellow. Bingham, a 1956 Harvard graduate, was the editor and publisher of the Courier-Journal and Louisville Times.

Laurie Penny, a London-based contributing editor at the New Statesman, editor-at-large of The New Inquiry, and a contributor to The Guardian, Vice, The Nation and many other publications, is the William Montalbano Nieman Fellow. Montalbano was a 1970 Nieman Fellow and a prize-winning Los Angeles Times reporter who reported from 100 countries during his 38-year career.

Wahyu Dhyatmika, an investigative reporter for Tempo magazine in Jakarta, Indonesia, is the Atsuko Chiba Nieman Fellow. The Chiba fellowship honors the memory of Atsuko Chiba, a 1968 Nieman Fellow from Japan.

Nabil Wakim, digital editor-in-chief of Le Monde in France, is the Robert Waldo Ruhl Nieman Fellow. Ruhl, a 1903 Harvard graduate, was editor and publisher of the Medford Mail-Tribune in Oregon from 1911-1967.

Johanna van Eeden, a senior newsroom executive with the Volksblad Group in South Africa, will receive fellowship support from the Nieman Society of Southern Africa.

David Jiménez, Asia bureau chief for Spain’s El Mundo, is the Carroll Binder Nieman Fellow. The Binder Fund honors 1916 Harvard graduate Carroll Binder, who expanded the Chicago Daily News Foreign Service, and his son, Carroll “Ted” Binder, a 1943 Harvard graduate.

Luo Jieqi, a senior legal reporter for the Caixin Media Company in China, is receiving fellowship support through the Marco Polo Program of Sovereign Bank and Banco Santander.

Seung Ryun Kim, an editor at Channel A in Seoul, South Korea, is being sponsored by The Asia Foundation.

The Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard educates leaders in journalism and elevates the standards of the profession through special programs that convene scholars and experts in all fields. More than 1,400 journalists from 93 countries have been awarded Nieman Fellowships since 1938. The foundation’s other initiatives include Nieman Reports, a quarterly print and online magazine that explores contemporary challenges and opportunities in journalism; the Nieman Journalism Lab, a website that reports on the future of news, innovation and best practices in the digital media age; and Nieman Storyboard, a website that showcases exceptional narrative journalism and explores the future of nonfiction storytelling.

Show comments / Leave a comment